top of page

Past Winners: The Elite Champions Club

A key element of the National Science & Maths Quiz is claiming the bragging rights as national champions of Science and Maths.

Contestants look forward to winning so they can beat their chests and recount how they beat so-and-so school to win the trophy. Current and old students of Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School (Presec) will seize every opportunity to let you know they are the Lionel Messi of the National Science & Maths Quiz. Having won the quiz seven times (1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2020 and 2022), they indeed deserve to flaunt it. It definitely is no mean achievement!

However, it was Prempeh College that first won the title in 1994 and subsequently went on to win the third edition in 1996. They have since won the title three more times (2015, 2017, 2021) and are considered the second-most successful school in the competition. Their city rivals, Opoku Ware School followed their heels and won the 1997 edition and later, the 2002 edition.

It is worth saying that in the history of the National Science & Maths Quiz, Achimota School has been the only co-educational school to have won the title. They have won the competition on two occasions – 1998 and 2004. All other winners have been all-boys' schools. No girls’ school has won the competition, despite being in the finals a couple of times – Wesley Girls' High School (1999) and Mfantsiman Girls' SHS (2013).

Mfantsipim School with the NSMQ Trophy in 1999

In 1999, Mfantsipim School, touted as “the School” won its first title. Of the three contestants, perhaps the name that stands out is that of Bubune Adih. He was the toast of the 1999 edition and captured the heart of the then quiz mistress, Professor Marian Ewurama Addy.

The 2000 and 2001 editions saw the trophy move to the Eastern Region, as St. Peter’s SHS and Pope John Minor Seminary & SHS won the competition respectively. St. Peter’s would later win the 2005 and 2018 editions of the quiz.

St. Augustine's College with the NSMQ Trophy in 2007

In the Ghana @ 50 edition of the quiz in 2007, St. Augustine’s College (AUGUSCO) were crowned proud winners. After a 12-year drought, AUGUSCO emerged as the National Champions for the second time in 2019. Ghana Secondary Technical School (GSTS) won the 2012 edition while St. Thomas Aquinas (the only day-school to win the Quiz so far) picked up the 2013 edition, beating stiff competition from Presbyterian Boys’ and a rather laid-back Mfantsiman Girls’ team, in what was a keenly contested final.

St. Thomas Aquinas SHS won the NSMQ in 2013

After a nearly 15-year trophy drought, Mfantsipim School won the 19th edition in 2014, with Prempeh College winning the 20th edition in 2015. Adisadel College was the last school to join the Elite NSMQ Champions' Club after they won the 2016 edition.

Since its inception in 1993/94, only 11 schools have managed to clinch the NSMQ Trophy, making it one of the most prestigious and difficult titles to claim in Ghana.


bottom of page