top of page

NSMQ 2022: All Award Winners at the Grand Finale

  1. Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu Award for the Most Impressive Run: Assin State College This award – a cash prize of GH₵7,000 – instituted in 2018, to the “less-endowed school” that goes the farthest or causes the biggest upset, went to the contestants of Assin State College. Dr Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu presented this award to the contestants of Assin State College, a Grade C school that started their campaign from the Regional Qualifiers and made it to the Quarter-finals, where they almost beat Adisadel College, losing by a two-point margin.

  2. The Jacob and Elizabeth Banful Memorial Award for the Most Impressive Run: Teachers of Assin State College This award, also instituted in 2018 by the Banful Family in memory of their parents who were teachers, went to teachers of Assin State College. This award, a cash prize of GH₵10,000 aims to reward the teachers from the “less-endowed school” that goes the farthest, or causes the biggest upset in the competition and is a complement to the Dr. Kwaku Mensa-Bonsu Award for the Most Impressive Run. Prof. Ben Banful, Provost of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, KNUST, presented this award.

  1. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu Award for the Most Outstanding Female Contestant: Ms. Afua Yedzene Emenyo Doe-Kiinnii, a contestant of Mawuli School, who played a key role in the school’s qualification from the Regional Qualifiers all through to the Quarter-finals, won this award and received a cash prize of GH₵5,000. This was presented by Ms. Nana Akua Mensa-Bonsu, on behalf of her mother, Her Lordship Prof. Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, Justice of the Supreme Court of Ghana.

  2. Marian Ewurama Addy Award for the Best Team: Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School won this award, instituted by Mr. Bubune Adih (NSMQ 1999 Champion, Mfantsipim School) in 2015. They received a cash prize of GH₵5,000.

  3. Newmont Ghana Golden Journey Award: Abetifi Presbyterian SHS won this prize, aimed at rewarding a “less-endowed” school that braved all odds to excel in the competition. Their journey in the competition was indeed golden. At the Eastern Regional Qualifiers, they eliminated four (4) schools, including Ofori Panin SHS. They won their Preliminary Stage contest with 53pts, and eliminated Sonrise Christian SHS and Kumasi Wesley Girls’ High School to book their first-ever Quarter-final appearance. With 51pts, they eliminated Osei Kyeretwie SHS and Ghanata SHS at the Quarter-finals, making it to the Semi-finals, where they lost to Prempeh College, placing second in the contest, with Mfantsipim School placing third. To reward this golden journey, the school received a cash prize of GH₵20,000.

  4. Dano Inner Strength Award: Assin State College The Dano Inner Strength Award, in honour of the courage, resilience and tenacity of a “less-endowed school” that worked hard to reach the Quarter-finals was won by Assin State College. For winning this prize, Assin State College would receive GH₵5,000 worth of Dano Milk products.

  5. Educational experience at Zipline Academy: Contestants of Assin State College won a four-week educational experience, which saw them receive practical training on all of Zipline’s operations.

  6. Goil Prize for the Most Decent and Exciting Cheering School: Adisadel College received fuel worth GH₵2,000.00 for their exciting “jama” songs at the Grand Finale.

  7. AirtelTigo Prize for the Best Performing Lesser-Known School: Abetifi Presbyterian SHS won the maiden edition of this prize instituted by AirtelTigo. The school received an AirtelTigo Business Router (with FlexiNet Data for five months), while each contestant also received an AirtelTigo MiFi (with 10GB Data). Scholarships Finally, the NSMQ 2022 journey ended with scholarships to a number of students from competing schools. The following were some of the Scholarship Packages on offer:

  8. Academic City University College Presidential Scholarship: Benjamin Eyram Degbey (St. James Seminary SHS) At the Grand Finale, Austin Afutu of Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School received the Presidential Scholarship, worth $40,000 to read Biomedical Engineering at the University, after interviews were conducted prior to the Grand Finale. However, he later turned down the offer, as he preferred to study Pharmacy instead. Hence, after another set of interviews, Benjamin Eyram Degbey of St. James Seminary SHS was offered this scholarship. The scholarship package includes tuition, accommodation, feeding, a laptop and a monthly stipend.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page